16 Oct

GirlsHeartBooks

When a writer writes a book where do the characters come from? Are they from real life? Are they completely made up? I think it’s a really interesting question and it’s one I’m often asked.

Every writer is different, but my characters are usually a bit of a mix of both. My starting point with a book is always what is going to happen and where it is set (some writers start with a character or set of characters but that’s not the way my mind works, I definitely start with the plot). After that I start thinking about the characters e.g. whether the characters are shy or outgoing, brave or timid, practical or dizzy etc. and then I start thinking of people in real life that I know like that and that helps me fill in details and really ‘see’ the character. I always like to feel I know…

View original post 604 more words

Leave a Reply

